Category Archive for: ‘Judicatories’

2.5 The Synod

SECTION 5. The Synod ARTICLE 95. The Synod is composed of at least four Classes and represents the whole Church. It is the highest judicatory and the last resort in all cases respecting the government of the Church. It shall meet annually, either in general convention or as a delegated body. In general convention it consists of all the ministers …

Read More

2.4 The Classis

SECTION 4. The Classis ARTICLE 76. A Classis consists of the ministers residing within a district designated by the Synod and of the elders delegated by the pastoral charges situated within these limits, and has jurisdiction over said ministers and pastoral charges. ARTICLE 77. A Classis shall embrace at least three pastoral charges and as many ordained ministers. It shall …

Read More

2.3 The Spiritual Council

SECTION 3. The Spiritual Council ARTICLE 70. The Spiritual Council consists of the pastor or pastors and the active elders of a congregation. It has original jurisdiction in matters of discipline except in the case of a Minister of the Word. ARTICLE 71. The pastor shall be President of the Spiritual Council; if the congregation is without a pastor, one …

Read More

2.2 The Consistory

SECTION 2. The Consistory ARTICLE 61. The Consistory is composed of the pastor or pastors and the elders and deacons, and has oversight and government of the congregation and of all its organizations. ARTICLE 62. The pastor shall be President of the Consistory, unless the existing charter provides otherwise. When a charge is without a pastor, or the pastor is …

Read More

2.1 Judicatories

HTML clipboard THE CONSTITUTION OF THE REFORMED CHURCH IN THE UNITED STATES PART II. JUDICATORIES SECTION 1. Judicatories in General ARTICLE 49. The judicatories are: The Consistory. The Spiritual Council. The Classis. The Synod. They take cognizance only of ecclesiastical matters, and have authority to require obedience to the laws of Christ and His Church and to discipline the disobedient. …

Read More